I am one day older

happy-birthday-72160_960_720Each year as a birthday comes around my friends and family calls to wish me a happy birthday. They may say something along the lines of you are one year older. As I thought about this phrase one week leading up to my birthday this year it hit me, they have been wrong all these years.

A birthday marks the anniversary of your birthday and helps you to count the years since your birth. But the days from one birthday to the other marks your life. They mark the difference you make with your life and how well you’ve used each year. Each day is filled with experiences, love, joy, hopes, fulfilment of those hopes and the list goes on. But most importantly each day is full of the marks you make as an individual on the lives you come in contact with.

And so this year I am resolute in my quest to celebrate one day older, today and each day that I am blessed to be with my family and friends, growing and learning. After all, we are told by the Good Book “whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away,” (James 4:14).

“As we have therefore opportunity, let us do good unto all men, especially unto them who are of the household of faith,” (Galatians 6:10). I pray you will join me in this quest.

Leave a Reply

